America · England · Europe · Lifestyle · Northern Ireland · Portugal · Spain · Travel · Trek America · UK Travel · Wales

2015: My Year in Travel

A little late to the trending blog post party, but hey – this one pack’s a punch. So we can all let that slide. Looking back, 2015 has probably been my busiest travel year to-date. Travelling to 6 counties, 16 cities and 15 states – a little crazy to think I’ve managed to slot all that in whilst holding down a full-time job.

But here’s to showing you it can be done.

January 
3 days into 2015 and I’d booked a weekend trip to Northern Ireland to visit a friend. Even with it being so close, I’d never really visited before now. But it was a treat, being shown around her hometown of Belfast and then day-trips out to Giant’s Causeway and the coastal town of Portrush.
Read up about it here.

To round of the month, we visited Paris, France. In true Parisian form, it was picturesque even in freezing temperatures. Never having stayed in Paris before, we of course checked visited all the landmarks and immersed ourselves in the culture. I can’t wait to go back again, this time in July so a chance to see the romantic city in a different, warmer light.

 

March/April
We decided to make the most of the extended weekend and drive up to the North York Moors, staying in Great Ayton & Whitby. Blessed with some amazing weather for this time of year, we did our best to visit the famous 199 steps, the Abbey and even squeeze in the little fishing village of Robin Hoods Bay.  I’ll definitely be going back there, even if it is for those fish&chips!

May
In need of some sun, we booked Mallorca for 5 days. Opting for coastal base for the first 3 in Calla Millor we beach hopped and visited rocky coves. The other two days we spent in the capital city, Palma. Wandering the windy streets and appreciating the history of the area.

June
Another month, another country right? This time Lisbon, Portugal. A short but packed trip, we made sure the summer rain didn’t dampen our moods. Staying in the oldest district of Lisbon, Alfama of which turned out to be a bustling little town. Oh and not to mention eating my weight in Pastel de Nata. A must-do when in Portugal!

July
UK trip to the capital, London. Staying in the heart of Kensington, making it great with transport links to everywhere we wanted to go. Having been to London back and forth my whole life and visiting the landmarks, we opted to venture where the ‘locals’ do. I’ll be sure to write up those great finds.


August
Exploring the likes of North Wales, staying on the Island of Anglesey. We rediscovered our love for this place. My highlight – visiting the fairy tale village of Portmeirion.
Read about it more here. 

September/October 
The daddy of my trips, for several reasons. My first solo trip ever. I spent a month travelling cross-country across USA as part of Southern-Sun tour. A trip that I wanted to do for many years, crossing off several items on my bucketlist. From hiring a mustang in LA, hiking in the Grand Canyon, listening to jazz in New Orleans, eating huge steaks in Texas & looking out to views from Top of the Rock in New York. My highlights are endless! Such a big trip covering so much ground, literally. I’ll be slowly posting up about my full journey soon. But for now, read here for LA and here for my time in Vegas.

 


November
Birthday month, deserves a birthday trip. I was lucky enough to have a surprise UK break to Northumberland. I love castles – grand castles, derelict. Just appreciating them in through the design and architecture and Northumberland didn’t disappoint.


December
Ending the year on a high? Why not, with spending my first Christmas abroad. 7 days in the south of Spain. Heading to Almerica where we hiked across all terrains and soaked up some sun. Cadiz to appreciate the old town and get a case of beach feet and finally finishing up in Tarifa. A surfers paradise, with water sports being the focus all year round and a hippie, surfer town to match!
Read up on my Spanish Christmas here.

 

So after an eventful 2015, I sort of set the bar for 2016. With it shaping up as follows:

Lake District, UK – February 
Lex Duex Alpes, France – March
Porto, Portugal – May
Paris, France – July
Motenegro – September
Croatia, Hvar, Vis – October

How did your 2015 shape up? Any up-coming trips for this year? Be sure to let me know!

3 thoughts on “2015: My Year in Travel

    1. You do have a lot lined up, I’m still going to try and fit in a Christmas break this year even though I’ve run of out annual leave. I went to Brussels for in Dec 2014 and it was lovely, especially Bruge!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. yeah I run out of annual leave, but my entitlement renews in September! Hooray! 🙂
        This will be my second time in Brussels, but my first time i’ll get to write up about in on my blog – so very exciting! Bruge is gorgeous! I went years ago in February and the canals had iced over and it looked stunning!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

